The fact is there are still different rules

2 Jul

“The fact is” that Anderson Cooper is gay (http://andrewsullivan.thedailybeast.com/2012/07/anderson-cooper-the-fact-is-im-gay.html). In an open letter to Andrew Sullivan of the Daily Beast, Cooper writes about naming that fact now:

It’s become clear to me that by remaining silent on certain aspects of my personal life for so long, I have given some the mistaken impression that I am trying to hide something–something that makes me uncomfortable, ashamed or even afraid.  This is distressing because it is simply not true.

And I’m struck by this profound, stubborn social truth: that if you’re heterosexual and don’t talk about your personal sexual life, people read you as tactual, prudish, or simply “appropriate”; but if you’re gay, bisexual or questioning, then others (and not just heterosexual others) presume you are ashamed.

Just another example of how sexuality matters. Maybe you don’t sling homophobic slurs, but how about assumptions?

Leave a comment